President Obama Awards the Presidential Medal of Freedom to recipient Toni Morrison

WASHINGTON, DC – President Barack Obama named thirteen recipients of the Presidential Medal of Freedom. The Medal of Freedom is the Nation’s highest civilian honor, presented to individuals who have made especially meritorious contributions to the security or national interests of the United States, to world peace, or to cultural or other significant public or private endeavors. The awards were presented at the White House on May 29, 2012. More