2013 Aspen Prize for Community College Excellence Awarded Today

Earlier today, the Aspen Institute announced that Walla Walla Community College in Washington State and Santa Barbara City College in California are the co-winners of the 2013 Aspen Prize for Community College Excellence. Kingsborough Community College in New York and Lake Area Technical College in South Dakota were awarded Finalist with Distinction honors as well.  The other finalist institutions for this year’s prize are: Brazosport College in Texas, Broward College in Florida, College of the Ouchitas in Arkansas, Santa Fe College in Florida, Southeast Kentucky Community and Technial College, and West Kentucky Community and Technical College.

In choosing a the winners and finalists, the Aspen Institute and its Prize Jury utilize multiple sources of quantitative and qualitative data to assess community colleges along four elements of excellence: college completion and transfer rates, labor market outcomes, learning outcomes, and equity.