

UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION Office of Postsecondary Education Washington, DC 20202

NATIONAL COMMITTEE ON FOREIGN MEDICAL EDUCATION AND ACCREDITATION (NCFMEA)

SPRING 2024 MEETING May 7, 2024

9:00AM - 3:00PM EST

Registration Link for Public Attendees:

NCFMEA Registration Link

PLEASE NOTE: Dates and times listed for agenda items are subject to change without prior notice. Meeting access links for Agency Representatives, NCFMEA Members, ED Staff, and Third-Party Commenters are different from the link listed above.

9:00AM - 9:15AM EST

Welcome and Introductions	Tracey Straker NCFMEA Chairperson George Alan Smith NCFMEA Executive Director
Administration Greetings	Nasser H. Paydar Assistant Secretary for Postsecondary Education
Standard Review Procedures Overview	Tracey Straker NCFMEA Chairperson
Duisfing has Demonstrated Claff	

- Briefing by Department Staff
- Remarks by Country Representatives
- Questions from Committee and Discussion
- Opportunity for Public Comment
- Executive Session: Discussion and Vote (Closed to the Public)

9:15AM - 10:45AM EST

Accreditation Commission on Colleges of Medicine (ACCM)

Country:	Cayman Islands
Type of Review:	Special Report
Committee Readers:	William Pinsky Barbara Schuster

Department Staff:	Charity Helton
Country Representatives:	Hilary Sanfey, MB. BCh. MHPE. FACS. FRCSI (hon), FRCSEd (hon) Chair – Accreditation Commission on Colleges of Medicine Emeritus Professor of Surgery, Southern Illinois University
	Prof. David Croke MA, PhD, FRC Path. Secretary - Accreditation Commission on Colleges of Medicine Emeritus Professor of Biochemistry & Former Director of Quality Enhancement, Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland University of Medicine & Health Sciences
	Fiona Peacock BA Hons Finance Administrator, Virtual Inspections Manager and Executive Administrator, Accreditation Commission on Colleges of Medicine
Third-Party Commenters:	TBA

10:45PM – 12:45PM EST

Polish Accreditation Committee (PKA)

Country:	Poland
Type of Review:	Redetermination
Committee Readers:	Kenneth Simons Stephen Symes
Department Staff:	Nicole S. Harris
Country Representatives:	Dr. Marek Kos, Ministry of Health; Undersecretary of State, Head of the Delegation
	Prof. Maria Mrówczyńska, Ministry of Science and Higher Education; Undersecretary of State, Deputy Head of the Delegation
	Prof. Janusz Uriasz, President of the Polish Accreditation Committee

Prof. Jakub Brdulak, Secretary-Deputy President of the Polish Accreditation Committee

Prof. Wojciech Mielicki, Polish Accreditation Committee, Chair of Section for Medical and Health Sciences

Mr. Marcin Czaja, Ministry of Science and Higher Education; Director of the Department of University Organisation, Education and Student Affairs

Mr. Szymon Sala, Ministry of Science and Higher Education; Deputy Director of the Department of University Organisation, Education and Student Affairs

Prof. Janusz Moryś, Chairman of the University Commission for the Quality of Medical Education

Prof. Kamil Torres, Medical University of Lublin; Representative of Public Medical Schools; Polish Accreditation Committee, Member

Prof. Grzegorz Dworacki, Poznań University of Medical Sciences; Representative of Public Medical Schools

Mr. Mariusz Klencki, Ministry of Health; Director of the Department of Medical Personnel Development

Ms. Magdalena Staśkiewicz, Medical University of Lublin; Representative of Public Medical Schools

Mr. Jakub Kozieł, Bureau of the Polish Accreditation Committee; Secretary of the Section for Medical and Health Sciences

Third-Party Commenters:

TBA

LUNCH

1:30PM - 2:30PM EST

Council for Higher Education (CHE) Israel (Special Request)	Prof. Yosseph Mekori, MD, Chairman of the Planning and Budgeting Committee at the Council for Higher Education Former President of the Tel Hai Academic College Former Dean of the Tel Aviv University Faculty of Medicine
	Prof. Rivka Carmi, MD, Chair of the Advisory Committee for Medical Education at the Council for Higher Education Former President of Ben-Gurion University of the Negev Former Dean of the Faculty of Health Sciences, Ben-Gurion University
	Prof. Alan Jotkowitz, MD, Director, Medical School for International Health, Ben-Gurion University of the Negev
	Michael Diamond, Adv, Consultant to the Council for Higher Education on matters of International Recognition
	Dr. Liran Gordon, Director of Research and Projects Evaluation at the Council for Higher Education
Comparability Guidelines Subcommittee Report	Tracey Straker NCFMEA Chairperson
Adjournment	Tracey Straker NCFMEA Chairperson