

U.S. Department of Education Office of Postsecondary Education

NATIONAL ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON INSTITUTIONAL QUALITY AND INTEGRITY (NACIQI)

February 28 – March 2, 2023

9:00AM - 5:30PM EST

Registration Link for Public Attendees

https://2023NACIQIWINTER.eventbrite.com

PLEASE NOTE: Dates and times listed for agenda items are subject to change without prior notice. Meeting access links for Agency Representatives, NACIQI Members, ED Staff, and Third Party Commenters are different from the link listed above.

Tuesday, February 28, 2023 9:00AM EST

Welcome and Introductions George Alan Smith | NACIQI Executive Director

Elections for NACIQI Chairperson George Alan Smith | NACIQI Executive Director

and Vice-Chairperson

Introduction of Administration NACIQI Chairperson

Representative

Administration Policy Update Nasser H. Paydar | Assistant Secretary for

Postsecondary Education

Consent Agenda and Procedures NACIQI Chairperson

Call for third-party oral comments

Call for removal of any items from the consent agenda

Move and second consent agenda

• Call for vote on the consent agenda

Consent Agenda/Compliance Reports:

1. New York State Board of Regents, State Education Department, Office of the Professions, Nursing Education (NYSED)

NACIQI Primary Readers: Molly Hall-Martin

Arthur Keiser

Department Staff: Charity Helton

2. Maryland Board of Nursing (MDBN)

NACIQI Primary Readers: Mary Ellen Petrisko

Michael Poliakoff

Department Staff: Nicole S. Harris

Standard Review Procedures Overview

NACIQI Chairperson

- Primary readers introduce agency application
- Department staff provides briefing
- Agency representatives provide comments
- Questions by NACIQI followed by response and comment from the agency
- Third-party comments
- · Agency responds to third-party comments
- Department staff responds to agency and third-party comments
- Discussion and vote

Renewal of Recognition:

Higher Learning Commission (HLC)

NACIQI Primary Readers: Jennifer Blum

Mary Ellen Petrisko

Department Staff: Elizabeth Daggett

Agency Representatives: Barbara Gellman-Danley, President

Jo Alice Blondin, Chair, HLC Board of Trustees,

President, Clark State College

Richard Dunsworth, Vice-Chair, HLC Board of Trustees,

President, University of the Ozarks

Eric V. Martin, Executive Vice President

Karen J. Solomon, Vice President and Chief

Transformation Officer

Marla Morgen, General Counsel for HLC

Third-Party Commenters: Ella Azoulay, Student Borrowers Protection Agency

Dr. Lori Sundberg, Kirkwood Community College

David Halperin, Attorney

Dr. Sylvia Jenkins, Moraine Valley Community College

Dr. Jon Bauer, East Central College

Dr. E. Gordon Gee, West Virginia University

Allison Muth, Veterans Education Success

Dr. Michael Crow, Arizona State University

Ms. Susan Heegaard, Midwestern Higher Education

Compact

Ms. Ingrid Gould, University of Chicago

Ms. Tammy Barlet, Student Veterans of America

LUNCH

Renewal of Recognition:

American Physical Therapy Association, Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education (CAPTE)

NACIQI Primary Readers: Wallace Boston

Michael Poliakoff

Department Staff: Paul Florek

Agency Representatives: Peggy Blake Gleeson, PT, PhD, Chair, Commission on

Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education

Mary L. Romanello, PT, PhD, Director, Accreditation

Renewal of Recognition:

Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE)

NACIQI Primary Readers: Arthur Keiser

Zakiya Smith Ellis

Department Staff: Reha Mallory

Agency Representatives: Dr. Davie Gilmour, MSCHE Chair, President Emeritus,

Pennsylvania College of Technology

Dr. Katherine Conway-Turner, MSCHE Vice-Chair,

President, SUNY Buffalo State

Dr. Heather Perfetti, MSCHE President

Dr. Idna Corbett, MSCHE Senior Vice President for

Accreditation Relations

Dr. Diana Barbu, MSCHE Senior Director for Research

Kathie Jeffries, MSCHE Vice President for Finance and

Chief Financial Officer

Dr. Amy Moseder, MSCHE Vice President for Policy and

Regulatory Affairs

Dr. Stephen Pugliese, MSCHE Senior Vice President and

Chief of Staff

Dr. Tracey Schneider, MSCHE Senior Vice President for

Legal Affairs and General Counsel

Third-Party Commenters: Dr. Alison E. Vogelaar

Allison Muth, Veterans Education Success

Dr. Thomas DeVere Wolsey

Wednesday, March 1, 2023

9:00AM ESTWelcome and Introductions

George Alan Smith | NACIQI Executive Director

NACIQI Chairperson

Standard Review Procedures Overview

NACIQI Chairperson

- Primary readers introduce agency application
- Department staff provides briefing
- Agency representatives provide comments
- Questions by NACIQI followed by response and comment from the agency
- Third-party comments
- Agency responds to third-party comments
- Department staff responds to agency and third-party comments
- Discussion and vote

Renewal of Recognition:

New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE)

NACIQI Primary Readers: David Eubanks

Robert Shireman

Department Staff: Nicole S. Harris

Agency Representatives: Larry Schall, President of the Commission

Russell Carey, Chair of the Commission, Executive Vice President for Planning and Policy at Brown University

Pat O'Brien, Senior Vice President of the Commission

Carol Anderson, Vice President of the Commission

Laura Gambino, Vice President of the Commission

Renewal of Recognition:

Accreditation Commission for Midwifery Education (ACME)

NACIQI Primary Readers: Claude Pressnell, Jr.

Zakiya Smith Ellis

Department Staff: Karmon Simms-Coates

Agency Representatives: Angela Smith, ACME Executive Director

Anne Cockerham, ACME Board of Commissioners Chair

LUNCH

Renewal of Recognition:

Western Association of Schools and Colleges, Senior College and University Commission (WASCUC)

NACIQI Primary Readers: Roslyn Clark Artis

Robert Mayes

Department Staff: Charity Helton

Agency Representatives: Phillip L. Doolittle, Commission Chair

Tracy Poon Tambascia, Commission Vice-Chair and

Chair-Elect

Jamienne S. Studley, President

Christopher N. Oberg, Executive Vice President

Stephanie A. Bond Huie, Vice President

Third-Party Commenters: Ella Azoulay, Student Borrowers Protection Agency

Allison Muth, Veterans Education Success

Thursday, March 2, 2023

9:00AM EST

Welcome and Introductions George Alan Smith | NACIQI Executive Director

NACIQI Chairperson

Standard Review Procedures Overview NACIQI Chairperson

- Primary readers introduce agency application
- Department staff provides briefing
- Agency representatives provide comments
- Questions by NACIQI followed by response and comment from the agency
- Third-party comments
- Agency responds to third-party comments
- Department staff responds to agency and third-party comments
- Discussion and vote

Renewal of Recognition:

Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing, Inc. (ACEN)

NACIQI Primary Readers: Molly Hall-Martin

Kathleen Sullivan Alioto

Department Staff: Mike Stein

Agency Representatives: Diane Evans Prior, Board Chair

Keri Nunn Ellison, Director

Nell Ard, Director, Interim CEO

Suzette Farmer, Director

Carrie Harris, CFO

Third-Party Commenter: Allison Muth, Veterans Education Success

NACIQI Policy Discussion

Accreditation Dashboard
 Subcommittee Report

NACIQI Chairperson Wallace Boston

Third-Party Commenters Dr. Edward Conroy, New America Education Policy

Program

Dr. Bernard Fryshman, Association of Advanced

Rabbinical and Talmudic Schools

Dr. Irene Mulvey, American Association of University Professors

Mr. Mark Lindsay, The Livingston Group

Ms. Lacy Barnes, California Federation of Teachers

Jessie Hernandez-Reyes, The Education Trust

NACIQI Chairperson

Adjournment