

U.S. Department of Education Office of Postsecondary Education NATIONAL ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON INSTITUTIONAL QUALITY AND INTEGRITY (NACIQI)

July 19-22, 2022

10:00AM - 4:30PM EST

Registration Link for Public Attendees

https://nacigisummer2022.eventbrite.com/

PLEASE NOTE: Dates and times listed for agenda items are subject to change without prior notice. Meeting access links for Agency Representatives, NACIQI Members, and ED Staff are different from the link listed above.

Tuesday, July 19, 2022 10:00AM EST

Welcome and Introductions	George Alan Smith NACIQI Executive Director Arthur E. Keiser NACIQI Chairperson
Administration Policy Update	James Kvaal Under Secretary of Education
Consent Agenda and Procedures	Arthur E. Keiser NACIQI Chairperson

- Call for third-party oral comments
- Call for removal of any items from the consent agenda
- Move and second consent agenda
- Call for vote on the consent agenda

Consent Agenda/Compliance Report:

New York State Board of Regents, State Education Department, Office of the Professions, Public Postsecondary Vocational Education, Practical Nursing (NYBRVE)

NACIQI Primary Readers:	Kathleen Alioto Steven VanAusdle
Department Staff:	Paul Florek
Agency Representatives:	Jeanne-Marie Havener, Associate in Nursing Education, NYBRVE
	Casey Schenk, Associate in Nursing Education, NYBRVE

Standard Review Procedures Overview

Arthur E. Keiser | NACIQI Chairperson

- Primary readers introduce agency application
- Department staff provides briefing
- Agency representatives provide comments

- Questions by NACIQI followed by response and comment from the agency
- Third-party comments
- Agency responds to third-party comments
- Department staff responds to agency and third-party comments
- Discussion and vote

Renewal of Recognition:

Distance Education Accrediting Commission (DEAC)

NACIQI Primary Readers:	Roslyn Clark Artis David Eubanks
Department Staff:	Paul Florek
Agency Representatives:	Dr. Leah Matthews, Executive Director, DEAC
	Dr. Cheryl Hayek, Chair, DEAC
	Dr. Wanda Nitsch, Vice Chair, DEAC
	Ms. Julie Miceli, Counsel

Renewal of Recognition:

American Occupational Therapy Association, Accreditation Council for Occupational Therapy Education (ACOTE)

NACIQI Primary Readers:

Department Staff:

Agency Representatives:

Jill Derby Robert Mayes Elizabeth Daggett Dr. Teresa Brininger, Director of Accreditation, ACOTE Dr. Lynn Kilburg, Chairperson, ACOTE

1:30PM – 2:00PM LUNCH

Renewal of Recognition:

Association for Clinical Pastoral Education, Inc., Accreditation Commission (ACPEI)

NACIQI Primary Readers:

Jennifer Blum Claude Pressnell

Department Staff:

Laco "L.G." Corder

Agency Representatives:

Rev. Dr. Trace Haythorn, ACPE CEO/Executive Director

Dr. Marc Medwed, ACPE Associate Executive Director

Rev. Dr. Randy Hall, Chair, ACPE Accreditation Commission

Rev. Katy Wilcox, Chair-Elect, ACPE Accreditation Commission

Wednesday, July 20, 2022 10:00AM EST

Welcome and Introductions

George Alan Smith | NACIQI Executive Director Arthur E. Keiser | NACIQI Chairperson

Standard Review Procedures Overview Arthur E. Keiser | NACIQI Chairperson

- Primary readers introduce agency application
- Department staff provides briefing
- Agency representatives provide comments
- Questions by NACIQI followed by response and comment from the agency
- Third-party comments
- Agency responds to third-party comments
- Department staff responds to agency and third-party comments
- Discussion and vote

Renewal of Recognition:

Association for Biblical Higher Education, Commission on Accreditation (ABHE)

NACIQI Primary Readers:	Molly Hall-Martin Robert Mayes
Department Staff:	Nicole S. Harris
Agency Representatives:	Dr. Lisa Beatty, Executive Director, ABHE Commission on Accreditation
	Dr. Kevin Hester, Chair, ABHE Commission on Accreditation
	Dr. Shane Wood, Associate Director, ABHE Commission on Accreditation
	Dr. Michael Jackson, Associate Director/Substantive Change Officer, ABHE Commission on Accreditation

Renewal of Recognition:

Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE)

NACIQI Primary Readers:	Jill Derby Robert Shireman
Department Staff:	Charity Helton
Agency Representatives:	Janet P. Engle, PharmD, PhD (Hon), FAPhA, FCCP, FNAP, Executive Director, ACPE
	J. Gregory Boyer, RPh, PhD, Associate Executive Director and Director of Professional Degree Program Accreditation, ACPE
	Dawn Zarembski, PharmD, BCPS, Assistant Director, Accreditation, ACPE
	Reza Karimi, RPh, PhD, President, ACPE, Dean and Professor at Pacific University School of Pharmacy

1:30PM – 2:00PM LUNCH

Renewal of Recognition: Middle States Commission on Secondary Schools (MSA-CSS)

NACIQI Primary Readers:	Kathleen Alioto Claude Pressnell
Department Staff:	Karmon Simms-Coates
Agency Representatives:	Mr. Christian Talbot, President, MSA-CSS
	Dr. Glen Mort, Vice President, MSA-CSS
	Dr. James Kraft, Chair, MSA-CSS
	Mr. Dan Rufo, Associate Vice President, Accreditation
	Dr. Lorna Fairess, Associate Vice President, Accreditation
	Ms. Audra Chin, Director of Policy & Operations

Thursday, July 21, 2022 10:00AM EST

Welcome and IntroductionsGeorge Alan Smith | NACIQI Executive Director
Arthur E. Keiser | NACIQI ChairpersonStandard Review Procedures OverviewArthur E. Keiser | NACIQI Chairperson

- Primary readers introduce agency application
- Department staff provides briefing
- Agency representatives provide comments
- Questions by NACIQI followed by response and comment from the agency
- Third-party comments
- Agency responds to third-party comments
- Department staff responds to agency and third-party comments
- Discussion and vote

Renewal of Recognition:

American Dental Association, Commission on Dental Accreditation (ADA-CODA)

NACIQI Primary Readers:

Department Staff:

Agency Representatives:

Jennifer Blum Robert Shireman Mike Stein Dr. Sanjay Mallya, Vice Chairman, CODA Dr. Sherin Tooks, Director, CODA Ms. Cathryn Albrecht, Senior Associate General Counsel, CODA

12:00PM – 12:30PM LUNCH

Renewal of Recognition:

Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC)

NACIQI Primary Readers:	Wallace Boston Mary Ellen Petrisko
Department Staff:	Nicole S. Harris
Agency Representatives:	Dr. Belle S. Wheelan, President, SACSCOC
	Dr. Rebecca Maloney, Chair, CASCCOC Board of Trustees

Ms. Rosalind Fuse-Hall, Director, SACSCOC

Dr. Alexi Matveev, Director, SACSCOC

Third-Party Commenters

David Halperin, Attorney Dr. Kyle Southern, The Institute for College Access and

Success Robert J. Boyd, Esq., Independent Colleges and Universities of Florida

James Haynes, Veterans Education Success

Dr. Jonathan Alger, James Madison University

Dr. Ángel Cabrera, Georgia Institute of Technology

Dr. Vann R. Newkirk, Fisk University

Friday, July 22, 2022 10:00AM EST

Welcome and Introductions	George Alan Smith NACIQI Executive Director Arthur E. Keiser NACIQI Chairperson
Accreditation Dashboards Update Report	Wallace Boston Accreditation Dashboards Subcommittee Chairperson
NACIQI Policy Discussion	Arthur E. Keiser NACIQI Chairperson
Third-Party Commenters	Dr. Bernard Fryshman, Association of Advanced Rabbinical and Talmudic Schools
	Mark Lindsay, The Livingston Group
	Rachel Fishman, New America
Adjournment	Arthur E. Keiser NACIQI Chairperson