

## U.S. Department of Education Office of Postsecondary Education

## NATIONAL ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON INSTITUTIONAL QUALITY AND INTEGRITY (NACIQI)

July 30-31st, 2019 8:30am-5:00pm

Hilton Hotel – Old Town Alexandria 1767 King Street Grand Ballroom Alexandria, VA 22314

NOTE: Dates and times listed for agenda items are subject to change.

Day 1   Tuesday, July 30 <sup>th</sup>	
8:30am   Welcome and Introductions	Jennifer Hong   NACIQI Executive Director Arthur Keiser   NACIQI Chairman
Accreditation Rules Effective July 2020	Diane Auer Jones   Principal Deputy Under Secretary Delegated the Duties to Perform the Duties of Under Secretary
Consent Agenda and Procedures	Arthur Keiser   NACIQI Chairman  Call for third-party oral comments  Call for removal of any items from the consent agenda  Move and second consent agenda  Call for vote on the consent agenda
Consent Agenda   Compliance Report	NACIQI Primary Readers:
<ol> <li>The Council on Chiropractic Education (CCE)</li> <li>Commission on English</li> </ol>	<ol> <li>(CCE) Simon Boehme, Kathleen Sullivan Alioto</li> <li>(CEA) John Etchemendy, Claude Pressnell</li> <li>(ACPE) Jill Derby, Anne Neal</li> </ol>
Language Program Accreditation (CEA) 3) Association for Clinical Pastoral Education, Inc.,	Department Staff:  1) (CCE) Chuck Mula 2) (CELP) Chuck Mula

Accreditation Commission (ACPE)	3) (ACPE) Valerie Lefor
Standard Review Procedures	<ul> <li>Arthur Keiser   NACIQI Chairman</li> <li>Primary readers introduce agency application.</li> <li>Department staff provides briefing.</li> <li>Agency representatives provide comments.</li> <li>Primary readers' questions of the agency (include standard questions adopted by NACIQI for initial and renewal applications).</li> <li>Questions by NACIQI followed by response and comment from agency.</li> <li>Third-party comments.</li> <li>Agency responds to third-party comments.</li> <li>Department staff responds to agency and third-party comments.</li> <li>Discussion and vote.</li> <li>Final set of standard questions on improving institution/program quality for initial and renewal applications.</li> </ul>
Renewal of Recognition and Expansion of Scope   Western Association of Schools and Colleges, Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges (ACCJC)	NACIQI Primary Readers: Claude Pressnell Federico Zaragoza  Department Staff: Elizabeth Daggett  Agency Representatives:  Richard A. Winn, Ed.D.   President, ACCJC Stephanie Droker, Ed.D.   Senior Vice President, ACCJC Ian Walton, Ph.D.   Chair, ACCJC Sonya Christian   Vice Chair, ACCJC Mary A.Y. Okada, Ed.D.   President, Guam Community College   Secretary/Treasurer, ACCJC
Renewal of Recognition   Accrediting Council for Continuing Education and Training (ACCET)	NACIQI Primary Readers: John Etchemendy Anne D. Neal  Department Staff: Valerie Lefor

LUNCH	Agency Representatives:  William V. Larkin, Ed.D.   Executive Director, ACCET  Paul Dunlop   Chair, ACCET  Judy Hendrickson   Deputy Executive Director, ACCET  John Shaheen   Associate Executive Director, ACCET  Linsay Oakden   Assistant Executive Director, ACCET
LONCIT	
1:00pm   Renewal of Recognition   American Veterinary Medical Association, Council on Education (AVMA-COE)	NACIQI Primary Readers: Paul LeBlanc Frank Wu  Department Staff: Nicole Harris  Agency Representatives:  Spencer A. Johnston, VMD, DACVS   Vice Chair, AVMA-COE  Kevin B. Donnelly, DVM, Ph.D., DABT   Member, AVMA-COE  Karen Martens Brandt, DVM   Director, Education and Research, AVMA
Renewal of Recognition   Council on Education for Public Health (CEPH)	NACIQI Primary Readers: Richard O'Donnell Ralph Wolff  Department Staff: Stephanie McKissic  Agency Representatives:  Laura Rasar King   Executive Director, CEPH
Subcommittee on Substantive Change	Claude Pressnell   Subcommittee Chairman  Oral Commenters:  1) Bernard Fryshman, Interim Executive Director    Association of Advanced Rabbinical and Talmudic Schools

Day 2   Wednesday, July 31st	
8:30am   Welcome and Introductions	Jennifer Hong   NACIQI Executive Director Arthur Keiser   NACIQI Chairman
Standard Review Procedures	<ul> <li>Arthur Keiser   NACIQI Chairman</li> <li>Primary readers introduce agency application.</li> <li>Department staff provides briefing.</li> <li>Agency representatives provide comments.</li> <li>Primary readers' questions of the agency (include standard questions adopted by NACIQI for initial and renewal applications).</li> <li>Questions by NACIQI followed by response and comment from agency.</li> <li>Third-party comments.</li> <li>Agency responds to third-party comments.</li> <li>Department staff responds to agency and third-party comments.</li> <li>Discussion and vote.</li> <li>Final set of standard questions on improving institution/program quality for initial and renewal applications.</li> </ul>
Initial Recognition   National League for Nursing Commission for Nursing Education Accreditation (CNEA)	NACIQI Primary Readers: Paul LeBlanc Susan Phillips  Department Staff: Elizabeth Daggett  Agency Representatives:  Judith A. Halstead, Ph.D., RN, ANEF, FAAN   Executive Director, CNEA  Cathleen Shultz, Ph.D., RN, CNE, ANEF, FAAN   Professor Emeritus, Harding University Carr College of Nursing and CNEA Chair Roseminda Santee, DNP, MA, NEA-BC, CNE, ANEF   Dean, Trinitas School of Nursing and CNEA Secretary
Compliance Report   Middle States Commission on Secondary Schools (MSA-CESS)	NACIQI Primary Readers: Jill Derby Richard O'Donnell

	David and Claff
	Department Staff:
	Chuck Mula
Compliance Report   Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC)	Agency Representatives:  Lisa Marie McCauley, Ed.D., CPA   President, MSA-CESS  Kelly Christian   Director of Operations, MSA-CESS Glen R. Mort, Ed.D.   Accreditation Officer, MSA-CESS Craig J. Tice, Ph.D.   Superintendent, Fayetteville-Manlius and Commissioner, MSA-CESS  NACIQI Primary Readers: Ralph Wolff Frank Wu  Department Staff: Nicole Harris
	Agency Representatives:
	<ul> <li>Belle S. Wheelan   President, SACSCOC</li> </ul>
	<ul> <li>Rosalind R. Fuse-Hall   Director, SACSCOC</li> </ul>
11:30am   Ethics Training (Committee Only)	
1:00pm   Renewal of Recognition	NACIQI Primary Readers:
National Association of Schools of	George French
Dance, Commission on	Anne Neal
Accreditation (NASD)	7 WHIC IVEAL
(	Department Staff:
	Chuck Mula
	Agency Representatives:
	<ul><li>Karen P. Moynahan   Executive Director, NASD</li></ul>
	<ul><li>Richard F. Mann   Legal Counsel, Keller and</li></ul>
	Heckman, LLP
Renewal of Recognition   National	NACIQI Primary Readers:
Association of Schools of Music,	Simon Boehme
Commission on Accreditation	Susan Phillips
(NASM)	
	Department Staff:

	Stephanie McKissic  Agency Representatives:  Karen P. Moynahan   Executive Director, NASM Richard F. Mann   Legal Counsel, Keller and Heckman, LLP
Renewal of Recognition   National Association of Schools of Theatre, Commission on Accreditation (NAST)	NACIQI Primary Readers: George French Kathleen Sullivan Alioto  Department Staff: Charity Helton  Agency Representatives:  Karen P. Moynahan   Executive Director, NAST Richard F. Mann   Legal Counsel, Keller and Heckman, LLP