

U.S. Department of Education Office of Postsecondary Education

NATIONAL ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON INSTITUTIONAL QUALITY AND INTEGRITY (NACIQI)

June 20-22, 2017 8:30am-5:00pm

Washington Plaza 10 Thomas Circle, NW National Ballroom Washington, DC 20005

NOTE: Dates and times listed for agenda items are subject to change.

<u>Tuesday, June 20 | Day 1</u>

8:30am | Welcome and Introductions

Jennifer Hong, NACIQI Executive Director Arthur Keiser, NACIQI Chairman

8:45am | Greetings

Acting Under Secretary Jim Manning

Standard Review Procedures

Arthur Keiser, NACIQI Chairman

- Primary readers introduce agency application.
- Department staff provides briefing.
- Agency representatives provide comments.
- Primary readers' questions of the agency (include <u>standard questions</u> adopted by NACIQI for initial and renewal applications).
- Questions by NACIQI followed by response and comment from agency.
- Third-party comments.
- Agency responds to third-party comments.
- Department staff responds to agency and third-party comments.
- Discussion and vote.
- Final set of <u>standard questions</u> on improving institution/program quality for initial and renewal applications.

Renewal of Recognition | Distance Education Accrediting Commission (DEAC)

NACIQI Primary Readers:	Paul J. LeBlanc Anne D. Neal
Department Staff:	Rachael Shultz
Agency Representatives:	Leah K. Matthews, PhD, Executive Director DEAC David Oxenhandler, Chair DEAC Robert Brodnick Strategic Initiatives
Third Party Comments:	Patrick C. Spada, President Higher Education Research and Development (H.E.R.D.)

Renewal of Recognition | Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC)

NACIQI Primary Readers:	Richard F. O'Donnell Susan D. Phillips
Department Staff:	Nicole Harris
Agency Representatives:	 Belle S. Wheelan, Ph.D., President SACSCOC Nancy B. Moody, Ph.D., President Tusculum College Chair SACSCOC Board of Trustees Alfred Rankins, Jr., Ph.D., President Alcorn State University Vice Chair, SACSCOC Board of Trustees Carol A. Luthman, Director of Legal and Governmental Affairs, and Commission Support SACSCOC Donna Barrett, Director of Institutional Finance SACSCOC
Third Party Comments:	James W. Waldman, ESQ. General Counsel to Keiser University and Everglades University
12:00 LUNCH	

1:00pm | Renewal of Recognition | Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE)

NACIQI Primary Readers:	Ralph Wolff
	Federico Zaragoza

Department Staff: Chuck Mula

Agency Representatives:	Timothy L. Tucker, PharmD, President ACPE Board of Directors Peter H. Vlasses, PharmD, DSc (Hon) FCCP ACPE Executive
	Director J. Gregory Boyer, PhD, Director Professional Degree Program Accreditation

Renewal of Recognition | Middle States Commission on Secondary Schools (MSA CSS)

NACIQI Primary Readers:	Simon J. Boehme Jill Derby
Department Staff:	Chuck Mula
Agency Representatives:	Craig J. Tice, Ph.D, Superintendent of Schools and Chair of MSA CSS Fayetteville-Manlius Central School District Henry G. Cram, Ed.D, President MSA Jane W. Pruitt, Ed.D, Accreditation Officer MSA Glen R. Mort, Ed.D, Accreditation Officer MSA Daniel C. Rufo, MS.Ed, Director of Accreditation MSA

Renewal of Recognition | American Dental Association, Commission on Dental Accreditation (CODA ADA)

NACIQI Primary Readers:	John Etchemendy Arthur J. Rothkopf
Department Staff:	Valerie Lefor
Agency Representatives:	Harold Mark Livingston, DDS, Chair CODA, ADA Sherin Tooks, EdD, MS, Director CODA, ADA Cathryn Albrecht, JD, Senior Associate General Counsel CODA, ADA

Wednesday, June 21 | Day 2

8:30am | Welcome and Introductions

Jennifer Hong, NACIQI Executive Director Arthur Keiser, NACIQI Chair

Panel on Student Unit Record Systems

Patrick Lane, Director of Data Initiatives | Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education

Kristin King, Program Manager | State Longitudinal Data Systems Grant Program (SLDS), National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), U.S. Department of Education Christina E. Whitfield, Ph.D., Associate Vice President | State Higher Education Executive Officers Association (SHEEO)

Third-Party Comments:	Dr. Doug Shapiro, Executive Director National Student	
	Clearinghouse Research Center	

BREAK

9:45am | Granting of Academic Graduate Degrees by Federal Agencies and Institutions | Master of Science in Air Power Strategy and Technology Integration | Air University, Air Command and Staff College

NACIQI Primary Readers:	Paul J. LeBlanc Claude O. Pressnell, Jr.
Department Staff:	Chuck Mula
Agency Representatives:	Anthony Cain, PhD., Air University, Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs

Redesignation of an Existing Degree-Granting Authority | Army Command and General Staff College

NACIQI Primary Readers:	Kathleen Sullivan Alioto Arthur J. Rothkopf
Department Staff:	Valerie Lefor
Agency Representatives:	James B. Martin, Ph.D., Dean of Academics U.S. Army Command and General Staff College Gerald S. Gorman, Ph.D., Assistant Dean, SAMS U.S. Army Command and General Staff College

BREAK

Standard Review Procedures

Arthur Keiser, NACIQI Chairman

- Primary readers introduce agency application.
- Department staff provides briefing.
- Agency representatives provide comments.

- Primary readers' questions of the agency (include <u>standard questions</u> adopted by NACIQI for initial and renewal applications).
- Questions by NACIQI followed by response and comment from agency.
- Third-party comments.
- Agency responds to third-party comments.
- Department staff responds to agency and third-party comments.
- Discussion and vote.
- Final set of <u>standard questions</u> on improving institution/program quality for initial and renewal applications.

11:00am | Renewal of Recognition | Association for Biblical Higher Education (ABHE)

NACIQI Primary Readers:	Brian W. Jones Susan D. Phillips
Department Staff:	Elizabeth Daggett
Agency Representatives:	Ronald C. Kroll, EdD, Director ABHE Shane M. Wood, PhD, Associate Director ABHE Lori Jo Stanfield, MA, Chair ABHE

12:00 | LUNCH

1:00 | Renewal of Recognition and Expansion of Scope | Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE)

NACIQI Primary Readers:	Ralph Wolff Frank H. Wu
Department Staff:	Nicole Harris
Agency Representatives:	Susan D. Ruppert, PhD, RN, FNP-C, ANP-BC, FNAP, FCCM, FAANP, FAAN Chair, Board of Commissioners, CCNE Jennifer Butlin, EdD Executive Director, CCNE Benjamin Murray, MPA Director of Accreditation Services, CCNE

Renewal of Recognition | American Occupational Therapy Association, Accreditation Council for Occupational Therapy Education (AOTA ACOTE)

NACIQI Primary Readers:	George T. French, Jr. Steven VanAusdle
Department Staff:	Elizabeth Daggett

Agency Representatives:	Heather M. Stagliano, DHSc, OTR/L, Director of Accreditation AOTA ACOTE Neil Harvison, PhD, OTR/L, FAOTA, Chief Officer, Academic and Scientific Affairs AOTA ACOTE Pamela Roberts, PhD, OTR/L, SCFES, FAOTA, CPHQ, FNAP, FACRM, Director, Physical Medicine, Rehabilitation, Academic & Physician Informatics Cedars-Sinai Health System
Third Party Comments:	Mary G. Hardy Former OTA program student in an accredited program

Renewal of Recognition | Association for Clinical Pastoral Education, Inc., (ACPEI)

NACIQI Primary Readers:	Roberta L. Derlin Anne D. Neal
Department Staff:	Valerie Lefor
Agency Representatives:	Marc Medwed, Program Manager ACPE Trace Haythorn Executive Director Wayne Mayberry The Chair of the Accreditation Commission

Thursday, June 22 | Day 3 8:30am | Welcome and Introductions Jennifer Hong, NACIQI Executive Director Arthur Keiser, NACIQI Chair

Accreditor Dashboards

Jennifer Hong, NACIQI Executive Director Oliver Schak, Office of Planning, Evaluation and Policy Development

NACIQI Policy Discussion

Arthur Keiser, NACIQI Chair

Adjourn