Recognizing Hispanic National Blue Ribbon Schools

Since 1982, the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program has recognized public and private schools based on their overall academic excellence or progress in closing the achievement gap among student subgroups. Each year the U.S. Department of Education celebrates the achievements of these great American schools. Throughout its 38-year history, the program has recognized over 9,000 schools and this year, the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program recognized 367 schools nationwide.

Of the 367, 47 honorees are schools serving a Hispanic student population ranging from 40 to 100 percent located in 14 states and the District of Colombia.

Hispanics make up 26.8 percent of all K-12 public school students and 11.3 percent of all private school students. These National Blue Ribbon Schools are leading the way in preparing Hispanic students for academic success. The White House Hispanic Prosperity Initiative (Initiative) celebrates each one for this national recognition. The Initiative congratulates the administration, staff, teachers, families, and communities that collaborate to ensure Hispanic students are succeeding. These schools are models for other schools with a high or growing Hispanic population on achieving excellence in academic achievement and closing academic gaps. The variety of programming within these schools demonstrates that when students are placed in the education setting that best fits them, excellence follows. The Initiative looks forward to further highlighting these schools and sharing their success.

The 2020 National Blue Ribbon Schools with a high Hispanic student population are:

School City State
Mexicayotl Charter School Nogales AZ
Phoenix Union Bioscience High School Phoenix AZ
Alliance Judy Ivie Burton Technology Academy High School Los Angeles CA
Carleton P. Lightfoot Elementary School Alta Loma CA
Coyote Canyon Elementary School Rancho Cucamonga CA
James Monroe Elementary School Bermuda Dunes CA
LaVerne Elementary Preparatory Academy Hesperia CA
Ward (E.W) Elementary School Downey CA
South Street School Danbury CT
Oyster-Adams Bilingual School Washington DC
Miami Arts Studio 6-12 at Zelda Glazer Miami FL
Somerset Academy Middle South Miami Miami FL
Somerset Academy Miramar South Miramar FL
H.R. McCall Elementary School Waukegan IL
Hodgkins Elementary School Hodgkins IL
John Hancock College Preparatory High School Chicago IL
Northside Elementary School Saint James MN
HCST County Prep High School Jersey City NJ
Lillian M. Steen School Bogota NJ
Gil Sanchez Elementary School Jarales NM
Pinon Elementary School Santa Fe NM
Veterans Tribute Career and Technical Academy Las Vegas NV
South Bronx Classical Charter School Bronx NY
Williamsburg High School for Architecture and Design Brooklyn NY
Frederick Elementary School Frederick OK
Marvine Elementary School Bethlehem PA
Alvarado Elementary South Alvarado TX
Desertaire Elementary School El Paso TX
Dr. Wright L. Lassiter Jr. Early College High School Dallas TX
Early Childhood Development Center Corpus Christi TX
Early College High School Farmers Branch TX
Edward Roberson Middle School Houston TX
Edward Titche Elementary School Dallas TX
Heights Elementary School Laredo TX
Henry W Longfellow Career Exploration Academy Dallas TX
High School for Law and Justice Houston TX
Hobbs Williams Elementary School Grand Prairie TX
John Z. Leyendecker Elementary School Laredo TX
Kelly-Pharr Elementary School Pharr TX
Maude Mae Kirchner Elementary School Quemado TX
Memorial Elementary School Houston TX
Reilly Elementary School Austin TX
Texas Academy of Biomedical Sciences Fort Worth TX
Transmountain Early College High School El Paso TX
Vista Academy of Austin-Mueller Austin TX
Windsor Park G/T Elementary School Corpus Christi TX
Young Women’s College Preparatory Academy Houston TX


In addition, the Department annually recognizes outstanding school leaders from National Blue Ribbon Schools through the Terrel H. Bell Award. This award recognizes principals for their vision and collaborative leadership style that have transformed their schools. This year, the Department recognized 10 remarkable principals. Three of the principals were Latinas:

The Initiative congratulates these Latina school leaders for their achievements.