Initiative Staff

The White House Initiative on Educational Excellence for Hispanics is led by a dynamic team of individuals who have extensive experience in government service and the private sector.

Alejandra Ceja, Executive Director

Jaqueline Cortez-Wang, Deputy Director

Emmanuel Caudillo, Special Advisor

The Initiative staff grows with the addition of detailees, fellows and interns playing critical role in the administration of the Initiative’s programs, projects and key activities.

Staff includes detailees:

Interns for Fall 2015 include:

  • Julia Martin, University of California, Berkeley
  • Maribel Villarreal, University of California, Merced
  • Ana Caban, University of Puerto Rico, Rio Pierdas
  • Karen Vanegas, University of Maryland, College Park

Interns for Summer 2015 included: Devon Hernandez, University of Pennsylvania; Joanna Sanchez, University of Texas at Austin; Erica Huerta, New York University; Priscilla Monsivais, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign; Perla  Bravo, University of Washington

Interns for the Spring 2015 included: Erica Alvarez, University of Southern California; Ileana Roque Gonzalez, University of Central Florida; Madeline Garcia, University of California, Davis; Miguel Arreola, University of Southern California; Stephanie Vela (Steph), American University

Interns for the Fall 2014 semester included: Camila DeChalus, American University; Beatriz Garcia, University of California Riverside; Jose Gil (Pepe), University of San Francisco; Jennifer Lopez, American University; Joe Martinez, Carnegie Mellon University; Lucia Mendez (Lucy), American University; Stephanie L. Mendez (Phanie), University of Texas at Brownsville; Stephanie Vela (Steph), American University

Interns for the Summer 2014 semester included: Diana Rojas, Oregon State University; Emily Rico, University of California, Los Angeles; Erica Cuevas, University of Texas – Austin; Gladys Rosario, University of California, Berkeley; Jesus Perez, University of Pennsylvania; John Garcia, Harvard University; Karla Robles, New York University; Sobeyda Gomez, University of Texas